Disconnect – Make the Web Faster, More Private, and More Secure

Disconnect Private Browsing is a browser extension that stops major third parties from tracking the webpages you go to. Every time you visit a site, Disconnect Private Browsing automatically detects when your browser tries to make a connection then it categorizes these network requests into different groups (Google, Facebook, Twitter, Advertising, Analytics, Social and Content).

By default, Disconnect Private Browsing blocks all of the network requests in each category except Content.

Disconnect - Make the Web Faster, More Private, and More Secure
Disconnect – Make the Web Faster, More Private, and More Secure

This browser extension will crawl the web to find the companies that track people, then Disconnect blocks those companies’ tracking requests in your browser. some of the features with this extension are:

  • Toolbar button – The toolbar button lives at the top of your browser and shows you the total number of tracking requests on every page you go to. Green means all the requests on a page are blocked. Gray means some are unblocked.
  • Dropdown – The dropdown shows you the number of tracking requests on a page by company. Green or checked means the requests are blocked. Gray or unchecked means they’re unblocked.
  • Common tracking sites – Facebook, Google, and Twitter – are shown separately to make them easy to block or unblock.
  • The Whitelist site or Blacklist site button lets you unblock or block all the requests on the site you’re on. Your preference will be remembered the next time you go to the site.
  • The dashboard shows you Disconnect’s effect on the page you’re on – the time and bandwidth you saved and the number of Wi-Fi requests you secured.

You can read more and download this extension over here: https://disconnect.me/disconnect

Share
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments